Nunayak Rafting
Rafting Canyoning Canoe-rafting
Airboat Hydrospeed
Via ferrata in Haute-Savoie
 
Aprill to october (BASE START)
Le Bellavista
F-74740 Sixt-Fer-à-Cheval
 
July to August (BASE FINISH)
Résidence Les Rhodos
Avenue du Giffre
F-74340 SAMOENS
 
Tél : 04.50.93.86.74
Mobile : 06.75.72.84.21
Email : contact@nunayak.com
   
 
 
     
 
 
     
  A brief history lesson  
   
 
Although the original human inhabitants of the valley may have come for many different reasons, all would have faced the same struggle to carve out a place to live amidst nature at its rawest. The iron ore to be found locally offered a way of escaping the uncertainty of farming in these mountains. .
 
 
 
 
Farmers and herders for centuries, the locals were also miners, stone carvers, peddlars and also smugglers.

From 1860, the valley began to attract visitors who flocked to see the splendours that nature had decided to gather together in one place.

The locals would help guide the new arrivals up mountains and some of them gradually transformed their homes into guest-houses, or built hotels and later ski-lifts.

After the famous Abbey was built, the valley's population started to grow. Generation after generation, man has cleared land for use in farming and animal husbandry.
In turn this led to the creation of a dairy industry. But the climate held down yields, and the early farmers suffered from a series of natural disasters: landslides, fires, floods.
 
 
  Mountain peasants organised themselves around the need for fodder to feed their animals. Thus they would have three houses, and over the course of the year they would move families, cattle and equipment in search of the precious "green gold". The main farmhouse would be on the valley floor or lower slopes: grass here would be cut for hay in the summer, with a second cut in the autumn, and stored for winter food.

In the spring the farmers would get moving: they would take their herds to "foris", small houses surrounded by grazing pasture, at intermediate altitudes. The annual cycle would be completed with the "montagnage", the climb to their high alpine pastures in early summer, by which time the grass would be sufficiently high and nourishing after the disappearance of winter's snow. When the snow returned they would leave the mountain, returning to their village for the winter -- the démontagnage.

 
     
 
 
 
The valley's "mining frenzy" began in 1807, as people attempted to extract copper, silver, lead, iron and gold. A series of individuals took on ownership of the mines which remained in operation, albeit only for pretty slim pickings of iron ore, extracted in dangerous circumstances, until 1853.
Jacques Balmat, the first man to climb Mont Blanc, died in the Mont Ruan area at the age of 72 whilst prospecting for gold.

 
As with other Alpine valleys, Sixt-Fer-à-Cheval was "discovered" by English tourists, seduced by the "splendours that nature has chosen to bring together in one place".
A generation of stone carvers was born, spread out along the upper Giffre valley. Their reputation spread beyond the valley's narrow confines. In summer they would leave the valley to work on building sites throughout Europe. This form of summer emigration is specific to the upper Giffre.
This was followed by the construction of the first mountain refuges, the railway linking Annemasse to Sixt-Fer-à-Cheval, and the first ski lifts. The tourist adventure had been transformed into a key part of the economy.
 
     
 
     
  top  
     
  © Nunayakrafting canyoning in Haute Savoie - Designed by BFI2 - Legal information
  www.rafting-canyoning.fr - www.alpes-rafting.com - www.hautesavoie-rafting.fr

Nunayak Rafting
Rafting Canyoning Canoraft
Airboat Hydrospeed
Via ferrata en Haute-Savoie
 
Avril à octobre (BASE de DEPART)
Le Bellavista
F-74740 Sixt-Fer-à-Cheval
 
Juillet et Août (BASE d'ARRIVEE)
Boutique Spirale Parapente
28 Place du Gros Tilleul
F-74340 SAMOENS
 
Tél : 04.50.93.86.74
Portable : 06.75.72.84.21
Courriel : contact@nunayak.com
   
 
 
     
 
 
     
  Un petit peu d'histoire pour ceux qui veulent !  
   
 
Venus s'installer pour différentes raisons dans la vallée, les habitants durent âprement lutter pour gagner le droit d'y vivre, face à la nature omniprésente. Pensant échapper aux instabilités de l'agriculture de montagne, la population supposa que le minerai de fer leur apporterait de meilleures conditions de vie.
 
 
 
 
Eleveurs et agriculteurs pendant des siècles, les sizerets se feront tour à tour mineurs, tailleurs de pierre, colporteurs, mais aussi contrebandiers.

Après 1860, ils accueilleront les premiers visiteurs venus contempler les splendeurs que la nature a rassemblé en ces lieux.

Ils les guideront vers les sommets et transformeront peu à peu certaines de leurs maisons pour héberger les touristes, construiront des hôtels, puis des remontées mécaniques.
 
Après l'installation de l'abbaye, la vallée se peuple peu à peu. Génération après génération, les hommes vont défricher et gagner du terrain sur la montagne pour cultiver et vivre de l'élevage.
 
Ils développent la transformation puis l'échange et la vente de produits lactés. Mais le climat ne permet que de médiocres rendements et les catastrophes naturelles (éboulements, incendies, inondations...) se succèdent.
 
 
  Les paysans montagnards vont organiser leur travail en fonction de la nécessaire économie du fourrage destiné à l'alimentation du bétail. Ainsi, ils avaient trois maisons entre lesquelles ils déplacent chaque année familles, troupeaux et matériels, à la recherche de l'herbe précieuse. La première, la ferme principale, est située dans la plaine ou sur les coteaux en basse altitude : l'herbe y est fauchée l'été (les foins) et l'automne (les regains) pour être stockée en vue de l'alimentation hivernale.

Au printemps, les paysans "se remuent" : ils conduisent leurs troupeaux aux "foris", petites habitations entourées de prés "à manger", situées à des altitudes intermédiaires. Ils achèvent leur mouvement cyclique, en s'en montagnant" (montant à l'alpage) au début de l'été, lorsque à cette altitude, l'herbe est suffisamment haute et fournie après la fonte des neiges. Quand celles-ci réapparaîtront, ils quitteront la montagne pour redescendre au village afin d'y passer l'hiver (le démontagnage).
 
     
 
 
 
C'est en 1807 que débute véritablement le "rêve minier" (cuivre, argent, plomb, fer et or). Différents propriétaires se succèdent à la tête des mines où les hommes exploitent maigrement et dangereusement le fer jusqu'en 1853.
Et c'est en cherchant de l'or que Jacques Balmat, premier vainqueur du Mont-Blanc, trouvera la mort à l'âge de 72 ans dans le secteur du Mont-Ruan.
 
A l'égal de nombreuses autres vallées alpines, celle de Sixt-Fer-à-Cheval fût "découverte" sur le plan touristique par les Anglais, charmés des "splendeurs que la nature avait amassées en ces lieux".
 
Une génération de tailleurs de pierre voit le jour tout au long de la vallée du Haut Giffre. Leur réputation franchit les montagnes. L'été, ils quittent la vallée pour travailler sur les chantiers dans toute l'Europe. Cette forme d'émigration estivale est spécifique au Haut-Giffre.
 
 
Puis vint la construction des premiers refuges, du chemin de fer qui reliait Annemasse à Sixt-Fer-à-Cheval, des premières remontées mécaniques. Et l'aventure touristique devint une activité économique.
 
     
 
     
  haut de la page  
     
  © Nunayakrafting canyoning canoraft en Haute Savoie - Réalisation BFI2 - Mentions légales
  Rafting Alpes, Morzine